Music Spotlight: Just A Girl

It only makes sense that this blog’s namesake acts as the first Music Spotlight. “Just A Girl” is a single off of No Doubt’s album Tragic Kingdom, released in September 1995. It is the first album where Gwen Stefani wrote all of the lyrics on her own, allowing for more personal influence. When asked about the lyrics, which point out ridiculous female stereotypes, Stefani stated the following:

I wrote that because my dad got mad at me for going to Tony [Kanal, No Doubt bassist]’s house and driving home late at night. I mean, c’mon, I’m, like, going on 30 here! I wouldn’t trade [being female], but I really don’t think guys understand what a burden it can be sometimes.

Leave a Reply

